My First Workshops! xXx

So today’s post is a mixture between sharing my excitement with you all and promoting the sewing club that I attend!

I realise that most of my wonderful readers and followers come from the lovely land of America, and some even further away than that! But hopefully this might interest some of  those who are perhaps a little (or a lot) closer, or even those that are just interested in what is going on in my little land of sewing. :D

style factory

So, like I mentioned I attend a sewing club.

Now I have only recently (say two months ago) found this little gathering of sewing enthusiasts but the moment I entered the room I knew I had found exactly what I was looking for. Sewing is fantastic, as we all know, but it can be a tad solitary which is why, I suspect, most of us have turned to the blogging world to share our love of creativity with like minded people. But even still, this can prove difficult with a comment here and a comment there, maybe an email or two thrown in. I would love to meet so many of the talented bloggers that I follow along with, and with the help of sewing meet ups (that post is to come very soon!) it is quite possible, but there are still many that I will most never meet in person.

So when the opportunity came to get to know real life people (no offense!) that live really close to me I jumped at the chance.

Since that very first meet up, which is hosted by The Style Factory, the club has undergone a LOT of changes. They are expanding so much and have moved to a beautiful new building which they have worked so hard to get up and running and looking fantastic. it is a listed building from the 18th century and it has some amazing features.

g2r_71_high_street_550

Ignore the solicitors sign!

In this new building they will have a little vintage/ handmade shop, workrooms for loads of different dressmaking and sewing courses that people can attend, obviously our sewing club and much much more!  This Saturday they are hosting their launch party with afternoon tea, goody bags and free demonstrations and I have been asked if I will host a couple of little workshops showing people how to make little trinkets like hair bows and pincushions!

style factory demonstrations

I am SOOOOO excited!

This is my first time hosting a  workshop and I hope it will be the first of many. :D

It is going to be a fantastic day and the more people that are able to come along the merrier (I am looking at all of you who live close enough!!!)

style factor

Here is the address: 

The Style Factory 

71 high Street Runcorn

WA7 1AH

Why not follow their Facebook page, where you will find more info and they are always posting loads of inspiration for projects too: 

https://www.facebook.com/thestylefactory

Well that is all from me. Wish me luck with my workshops :D

I would love to hear about sewing clubs other people attend too

signature made with hugs and kisses

Hannah smith of Made with Hugs and Kisses

19 thoughts on “My First Workshops! xXx

  1. That sounds so amazing! I would love to find a group like this around me so I can learn from the experienced as I begin learning all about sewing! :)

    • That would be a great asset to you as you start your sewing journey! I hope you find somewhere!
      Even though I have been sewing for a couple of years I have picked up quite a few things since starting this club thanks to all the lovely ladies that go. Although we do tend to chat and eat cake more than we sew :D Where abouts do you live? xxx

  2. How exciting! Sending you luck and calming thoughts for your day – I’m sure the first of many. If we weren’t away I would have loved to have come. Not too far from Leeds.

  3. OO that is so exciting! I wish I could come, but it’s still a bit far and moving day for my best friend. You’ll have to blog all about it in detail! Good luck! xxx

  4. Hannah, this is so wonderful! While I lament the fact that I can’t be there in person to join in on the fun and to MEET YOU, I celebrate the fact that you’ll get to put on your own workshops and share your infectious love of all things sewing with the world around you. And how wonderful to combine your gifting in teaching and sewing into one! I do hope you’ll do a blog post after the fact and tell us all the juicy details of how it went. Break a leg!

Comments make me happy xXx

